Menu Close

We don’t have enough space to list all the wonderful people
who support the life of Nelson United and make up our congregation.
Here are a few whom we hope you will meet:


Debbie Bartlett
Church Administrator

“Debbie in the Office” was the secretary for the church for many years before she left in 2004. In the meantime, she worked in a variety of administrative positions in Prince Rupert and Edmonton before moving to a small village in Quebec three years ago. She was keen to return to BC and especially Nelson for which she still has a great affinity. She resumed her duties in October 2020. 





The Reverend David Boyd
David is the lead Minister of Nelson United Church, a congregation in which ministry and leadership is shared by the whole congregation.  David came to Nelson in 1995 when Nelson United Church was formed by the amalgamation of St. Paul’s Trinity and Fairview United Churches.  Ordained in 1989, David began ministry at Matheson, Ontario, and spent 6 formative years as part of Cochrane Presbytery, Manitou Conference.

David grew up in the United Church as the son of a United Church Minister; he was born and baptized in the Hazelton, Kitsegukla and Kispiox pastoral charge, grew up in the Knox United pastoral charge in Kenora, Ontario and finished high school in the Brechin United pastoral charge in Nanaimo.  In terms of Order of Ministry within the United Church, David’s dad was ordained in the late ’50s, his grandfather in 1963 and his mother in 1993; so he has a well-grounded pedigree in the United Church.

David’s interests involve hiking, X-country skiing, and biking in this beautiful part of BC, music, poetry, writing, and hanging out.  David has taken two sabbaticals, one with the Iona Community in Scotland and another a pilgrimage to Palestine and Israel, Istanbul and Mount Everest.  He has a grown-up family and is married to Janet.

Robyn Lamb
Minister of Music

Robyn grew up in Nelson and has been studying piano and voice for almost thirty years. An alumnus of many summer youth theatre programs, she continues to act and sing in many local productions and has been the musical director for a large number of shows: some of her favourites include Mamma Mia, Into the Woods, Songs for a New World, Rock of Ages and You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown.

She has studied voice and piano for well over half of her life and is so grateful to be able to teach and learn from the NUC congregation. When not yelling about singing enthusiastically, Robyn enjoys travelling, cooking, and playing many board games.

The organizations Robyn has worked for include: The Nelson Opera Society, Nelson History Theatre, Amy Ferguson Institute, The Capitol Theatre, The Dance Umbrella, Nelson Youth Theatre.


Nicole Purvis
Youth and Family Coordinator

Nicole joined us in August 2020 as the Youth and Family coordinator during the COVID-19 time to creatively engage with church families and children. 

“I am devoted to working with families and to helping adults and children find developmentally appropriate games, songs, stories, rhymes, crafts, and toys to use in their every day. Sharing simple, inexpensive direct experiences…”

She brings a wealth of experience with families and children from her position as a Family Program Facilitator at Kootenay Kids Society, as a facilitator of the “Mother Goose Program” at Columbia Basin Alliance for Literature (CBAL). Nicole helped develop the Kootenay Kids’ Rainbow Families and LGBTQ+ parent and youth support groups.



Danaraj Doraisamy (Akka)

Akka is the custodian of the church with a socialist education. Has lived in the Kootenays for 20 years. He started a family late but great, married to Jasmine with a little gem of a daughter called Uma Jean. Akka is passionate about reading, gardening, plants, walking, the wilderness and social justice. He says his favourite thing about working at Nelson United Church is “the peaceful work environment where God is my supervisor.”




Our Church Board

Chair:          Linda Mae Findlay
Secretary:  Kathy Baker
Treasurer:  Leah Gray
Members:  Berdine Jonker
                     Jasmine Lysenko

The Ministry and Personnel Committee
Chair:     Jody Dudley
                Lorna Inkster
                Dirk Jonker
                Rona Park